DEBUG: https://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net/london4eu/pages/5/features/original/heart_photo.png?1501497680
DEBUG: PageFeatureDrop
DEBUG: blog_post
Write to your councillor
10 Jul, 2018

To call for a People’s Vote on the terms of a Brexit Deal

London4Europe Committee Member Michael Romberg writes: this is the third in a series of three sets of letters that I suggest you write. The first was for if you had Labour councillors. The second was to Mayor Sadiq Khan asking him to come out for the people’s vote.

In February 2018, so before the last Borough elections, Hero Borough of the Remain movement Hammersmith and Fulham Council called for the people to be given a vote on whether Brexit should go ahead or we should Remain in the EU. LB Ealing followed suit in April 2018. There may have been others. Hammersmith Labour believe that this resolution was a significant part of the reason why Labour did better in the Hammersmith & Fulham borough elections than in other areas.

Now that the 3 May 2018 local government elections have voted in a new set of councillors I suggest that you write to your ward councillors irrespective of party (well, perhaps not if UKIP) and to the leader of the council/ Borough mayor urging them also to pass a resolution calling for a people’s vote on the terms with the option to Remain. I suggest that you also write to your GLA London Assembly member.

A draft letter is below. The more you can personalise it to reflect your own views and circumstances the better. If you know your councillor’s stance on Brexit or a People’s Vote on the terms you can tailor the letter to that. You may also wish to reflect whether your Borough voted Remain or Leave. If you live in Hammersmith & Fulham or Ealing I suggest that you refer to the earlier vote and call for it to be renewed after the election. The model letter will need a bit of tailoring for the GLA.

You should be able to find your councillors and the leader/ mayor by googling your council’s name and “Councillors”.  You can find your GLA London Assembly member here. The London Assembly also has some London-wide members – they are all listed below:

Shaun Bailey (Conservative): shaun.bailey@london.gov.uk

Sian Berry (Green): sian.berry@london.gov.uk

Andrew Boff (Conservative): andrew.boff@london.gov.uk

Tom Copley (Labour): tom.copley@london.gov.uk

Nicky Gavron (Labour): nicky.gavron@london.gov.uk

Susan Hall (Conservative): susan.hall@london.gov.uk

David Kurten (UKIP): david.kurten@london.gov.uk

Caroline Pidgeon (Liberal Democrat):

                                     caroline.pidgeon@london.gov.uk

Caroline Russell (Green): caroline.russell@london.gov.uk

Fiona Twycross (Labour): fiona.twycross@london.gov.uk

Peter Whittle (UKIP): peter.whittle@london.gov.uk

 

Len Duvall is the Leader of the Labour Group on the London Assembly which is also the largest group:

len.duvall@london.gov.uk

 

In addition, boroughs usually have a process under which petitions or questions from members of the public may be heard by the Council. You could consider bringing such a petition, especially if your councillors are keen to toe the national party line.

 

#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%§#&%

 

 

MODEL LETTER FOR YOU TO ADAPT

 

Dear Councillor

One of the key issues for voters in London is Brexit.

I ask therefore that you work with the other councillors to ensure that the Council passes a resolution calling on the Government and national politicians to arrange for a People’s Vote on the terms of Brexit with the option to Remain, and calling on London’s mayor Sadiq Khan to support the demand for a vote.

You will be aware of the campaign for it launched by cross party group of MPs and supported by a range of bodies that call for the UK to maintain a close relationship with the EU. More information is at www.peoples-vote.uk.

You will also be aware that LB Hammersmith and Fulham in February 2018 passed a resolution that effect. LB Ealing followed suit in April 2018. If all councils pass equivalent resolutions the effect will be much magnified.

The case for a people’s vote is simple. Everyone reviews their intentions in the light of new information. Since 2016 we have all learned a great deal, becoming unexpectedly expert on the Customs Union and the Single Market. We have seen the promises of Brexiters evaporate and the Government struggle to put together a plan.

Central to the case for a people’s vote is that in about November 2018 the Government will have to produce a plan agreed with the EU. That plan will cover Transition, the Withdrawal Agreement and – crucially – the Framework for Future Relations. We shall for the first time know what Brexit means.

The same people who in 2016 voted for Brexit-the-idea should be given the chance to decide whether they like Brexit-the-plan. That would be the next question in the series. And of course the option always exists not to go with the plan, to Remain in the EU.

Therefore there should be a People’s Vote on the terms with the option to Remain, giving the electorate the final say on Brexit, a people’s vote.

I ask that as my Councillor you work to ensure that the Council passes a resolution that calls on the Government and all national politicians to support a People’s Vote on the terms of Brexit with the option to Remain giving the electorate the Final Say on whether to go ahead with Brexit or stay in the EU.

Yours sincerely

 

 

{Give your name and street address so that they know you live in the Borough/ Ward}

 

 

 

Blogs on this page reflect the views of the author and not necessarily of London4Europe.